United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

August 10, 2022

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chairman Senate Finance Committee 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mike Crapo Ranking Member Senate Finance Committee 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Wyden and Ranking Member Crapo:

We write in strong support of a robust, timely, five-year reauthorization of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (MIECHV).

As you know, evidence-based home visiting through MIECHV supports families from pregnancy through a child's early years through trusting, ongoing relationships with home visitors and families. This critical resource for young families improves maternal and infant health, school readiness and family self-sufficiency, reduces abuse and neglect, and connects families to community resources and supports. As the pandemic strained families and many programs shuttered their doors, home visiting programs quickly pivoted to virtual service delivery to ensure families had ongoing support.

As a gold standard for evidence-based policymaking, MIECHV enjoys broad bipartisan, bicameral support for its sound investment of federal funds to support the young children who are our future nurses, teachers, farmers, and more. Despite its longstanding success, prepandemic, just over three percent of eligible families were served through evidence-based home visiting according to the National Home Visiting Resource Center. This reauthorization cycle affords Congress the opportunity to provide an important and critical investment in home visiting to serve additional families and communities in need.

As the Senate Finance Committee works to consider and renew programs within your jurisdiction, we thank you for your historical support of MIECHV and urge your strong support of this program.

Sincerely,

Charles E. Grassley
United States Senator

John Thune

United States Senator

Rob Portman

United States Senator

Steve Daines

United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr.

United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow
United States Senator